[TUHS] [tuhs] ACM Turing Award for 2020: Unix roots

Nelson H. F. Beebe beebe at math.utah.edu
Thu Apr 1 03:23:25 AEST 2021

This just came in:

ACM has named Alfred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman recipients of
the 2020 ACM A. M. Turing Award


for fundamental algorithms and theory underlying programming language
implementation and for synthesizing these results and those of others
in their highly influential books, which educated generations of
computer scientists.

Most of us probably have several of their books on the shelf; I certainly do!

- Nelson H. F. Beebe                    Tel: +1 801 581 5254                  -
- University of Utah                    FAX: +1 801 581 4148                  -
- Department of Mathematics, 110 LCB    Internet e-mail: beebe at math.utah.edu  -
- 155 S 1400 E RM 233                       beebe at acm.org  beebe at computer.org -
- Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0090, USA    URL: http://www.math.utah.edu/~beebe/ -

More information about the TUHS mailing list